Protein energy balls

I have seen these all over Pinterest recently and decided I needed to make some. This is a perfect pre-workout snack or afternoon pick-me-up because of all the protein and healthy fat in it. You can change up the ingredients with things you already have in your pantry.

Ingredients

028

  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 1 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

1) Mix all ingredients together in a medium bowl until well incorporated.

029

2)  Let chill in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes. Once chilled, roll into golf size balls.

034

3) Store these in an airtight container and keep refrigerated for up to 1 week.

Based on my personal preference, I adjusted some of the recipes I saw on Pinterest to my personal preference – I made these a little drier by adding 1 cup ground flax seed. You can definitely adjust the ingredients and amounts based on what you like/have around. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Protein energy balls

  1. Jeana says:

    Does anyone know how many calories/protein each of these has.

  2. eme021 says:

    I am wondering the same thing. I have seen 118 to 148 calories per ball.

  3. eme021 says:

    Thanks!
    Okay. So when you eat these as a snack, just 1 should suffice right?

    • Yes, 1 is perfect right before a work out or as a snack. The flax seed, oats, peanut butter, etc are the perfect combination of fiber and protein to keep you full. The only problem is you’ll want to eat more 🙂

  4. eme021 says:

    LOL, that is what I thought! They are sooooooo good that you want to reach for another! The calorie count stopped me and it wasn’t like I was still hungry, they just tasted delicious!

    Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

