Parchment Bake Tilapia

As a Registered Dietitian, I often tell people to think of snacks as mini meals instead of the typical junk foods that we would eat as kids when we got home from school. A mini meal could be 1/4 pita, carrots, and hummus or tuna and crackers. Portion controlled 100 calorie packs are great but are often just empty calories that will make you hungry after an hour. As part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program with Mrs. Paul’s and Van de Kamp’s, I was able to try their new Parchment Bake tilapia which when paired with a salad was a perfect example of a mini meal.

077

I decided to try the Lemon Pepper flavor, but there is also a Roasted Garlic, Garlic Butter, and Classic Grilled flavors. Inside the box are two parchment paper bags filled with tilapia, which I baked according to the directions on the back of the package.

079

082

Then I added it to a green salad, topped with shredded parmesan and ended up with this

083

which in my opinion is a great mini meal, more satisfying than a 100 calorie pack, and probably closer to 90 calories total.

You can definitely service this tilapia for dinner, with some sauteed vegetables and whole grain bread or brown rice. Though I prefer fresh fish, I definitely would keep this product in my freezer for days when I need something healthy, easy, and quick.

Here are the nutrition facts

078

One lucky reader can try this product for free – leave a comment or send an email to oatmealmountain@gmail.com and I will send you a coupon if you are picked! Thanks to the Foodbuzz Tastemaker program for letting me try this product!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Parchment Bake Tilapia

  1. camille says:

    Hey out of curiosity, where do the 5g of carbohydrates come from? I’m assuming it must be from some sort of seasoning? The sodium isn’t bad for a frozen dish 🙂

  2. Brittany says:

    Yumm-o! This looks good! We would love to try it!

Leave a Reply

