Chinese Chicken

This is my mom’s famous recipe for Chinese Chicken, originally from one of our family friends in Houston. I had to make a couple of adjustments when I made it this time, due to the lack of ingredients on hand.

I honestly think this chicken is the reason I was able to make and keep my friends from middle school. My friends loved when I brought this for lunch, so much so that eventually my mom had to pack enough for all of our lunches when she made it. During a recent reunion in Atlanta, one of my friends even suggested this recipe for the blog.

Side note: She started making this recipe right around the time that the Barenaked Ladies song “One Week” with the line “Chickety China the Chinese chicken, you have a drumstick and your brain stops tickin'” came out…how appropriate.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb chicken breast – cut into small pieces
  • 8 oz mushrooms
  • 2 red bell peppers
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon Hoisin sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon Sriracha hot sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon corn starch powder
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil

Directions

1. Marinate chicken with Hoisin sauce, Sriracha sauce, and corn starch powder for 1 hour.

2. Add olive oil to a skillet and once the oil gets hot, add the marinated chicken.

3. Once the chicken is cooked half way, add the mushrooms and bell peppers. Cook until the vegetables become tender.

4. Add soy sauce and stir so that everything is evenly coated.

5. Serve over brown rice (or white).

My mom’s version:

First off, she uses a Wok instead of a regular skillet. She uses Kung Pao sauce and red chili paste instead of Hoisin sauce and Sriracha hot sauce. You can find these ingredients in any Asian grocery story or even maybe the International aisle of Target or Walmart. As I said before, I just didn’t have these ingredients on hand. She also adds green onions and peanuts at the end to top off the dish and sometimes she even mixes in water chestnuts.

I really enjoyed the version that I made but I must say that the original is better. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chinese Chicken

  1. Juhee says:

    MAKING THIS NOW!! it’s done marinating so ill be eating it soon. ill have to try mama meena’s version soon. mmmmm

Leave a Reply

