Cocoa Nutty Bites

I love browsing through cookbooks, especially ones with lots of photos.  If I get a cookbook, I get REALLY excited.   I don’t actually make most of the things in them, but I think they are fun to read.  I get free Diabetic cookbooks at work and I’ve been browsing the latest fall edition.  Before you turn your nose up at a “diabetic cookbook” let me tell  you, they have come up with some yummy sounding meals and treats.  I decided to test out the Cocoa Nutty Bites tonight, mainly because I had all the ingredients at home already, saving me money and time.  I also wanted to see just how these so called “diabetic friendly” cookies tasted…Well my roomates and I approve them!  and perhaps you will too…

Here’s what you need:

Cocoa Nutty Bites from Diabetic Cooking, Vol 1, No. 71, September/October 2010, 2010 Publications International, Ltd.

  • 1 cup creamy unsweetened natural peanut butter (the recipe  puts a star here to choose peanut butter that is not hydrogenated.  You don’t have to go all crazy organic on me, just pick the natural kind.  I got Skippy Natural Creamy on sale at Target last week and you don’t have to stir it or anything, and it has a much shorter ingredient list than your normal peanut butters.)
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar not packed
  • 1/4 cup sugar substitute…here’s where I varied it a bit, I used 1/4 cup + a little more of Splenda Brown Sugar Blends because I didn’t have that much Splenda on hand and more brown sugar is always good.
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder (not good alone fyi…)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger (I substituted a pinch of nutmeg because that’s what I had)
  • 1 egg, beaten

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees…as I type this I recall that I preheated mine to 375…and I wondered why the cookies got a bit burnt…it all makes sense now.
  2. Combine all ingredients, except the egg and stir well.  Then stir in the egg and stir well again.

1 CUP OF PEANUT BUTTER: That's a lot of healthy fat!

That's all the ingredients in a lovely bowl, given to me by my wonderful sister Stacey.

3.  Shape dough into little balls.  I had about 42 in all (recipe originally called for 2 dozen, so I made mine a little smaller…).  Place on ungreased cookie sheets (I greased mine because it’s a habit, maybe I shouldn’t have…).  Flatten balls with fork.

The cute little cookie balls

4.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until cookies are firm and lightly browned.  Cool on cookie sheets for 5 minutes.  Then remove to wire wracks (or plates if you’re like me and don’t have wire racks) and cool completely.

As far as the “dietary exchange” goes, the recipe says that these are “1 fat, and 1/2 carb” and since mine are smaller, well you could say the same thing really.  So if you’re still riding the low-carb lover train, these will be a perfect little dessert for you!  The reason I made them so small is to aid in portion control because even though peanut butter is a healthy fat, it is still loaded with calories, so it’s good in small amounts.  Besides it makes more and the cookies look so cute.  You could definitely make them bigger though, if you were bringing them to a bunch of your guy friends or something.  The smaller versions might be good for a little shower or party or Monday night baking fun.  Hope you enjoy!  A healthy cookie that tastes good is better than a healthy cookie that doesn’t taste good!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

