Cake Bites

I made these cake bites for a friend’s birthday last week. I got this recipe several years ago from one of my friends at LSU. In the past, I had only made it with chocolate cake and chocolate frosting, but decided to switch things up this time. My friend likes red velvet cake, so I thought I’d try the same recipe but with red velvet cake and cream cheese frosting instead. This is a quick and easy recipe and great to bring as a dessert to parties or to give as a gift.

Ingredients

  • 1 box red velvet cake mix (cook as directed on box for 9×13 cake)
  • 1 can Cream cheese frosting
  • White Chocolate baking squares
  • Semi-sweet baking squares

Directions

1. Prepare cake according to directions on back of box. Once cake is cooked and cooled completely, crumble into a large bowl.

2. Mix with 1 can cream cheese frosting. I suggest using your hands to ensure that you mix it thoroughly. (Warning: this can be very messy, but you’ll get to lick your fingers once done mixing. Just make sure to wash your hands afterwards.) Refrigerate mixture for 15 minutes.

3. Roll mixture into balls and lay on cookie sheet. I made these larger than usual, due to time constraints, but usually make them about quarter size.

4. Chill for 30 minutes in freezer.

5. Melt white chocolate in microwave according to directions on package.

6. Roll cake balls in white chocolate with spoon and lay on baking sheet until firm. 

7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 with semi-sweet chocolate.

As I said earlier, you can basically make this same recipe with any combination of cake mix/frosting and then coat with any type of baking chocolate.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cake Bites

  1. These look so good! Do they travel well? Do you store them room temp or in the fridge?

    • Yes, they do travel well. I just put them on a paper plate, wrapped them in aluminum foil, and carried them to work . The cake balls kept their shape and didn’t melt. I stuck them in the fridge the night before since I knew I’d be driving in the Birmingham heat to get them to work. Once I got to work, I kept them at room temperature all day.

      But, you can definitely keep them at room temperature for a few days. The outside coating hardens pretty quickly even at room temperature. I would suggest putting them in the fridge if you plan on waiting longer to serve them or if you are going to travel in warm weather with them.

      Also, if you roll the cake into quarter size balls, it makes about 45-50 balls. If you don’t need all of these right away, you can freeze the remainder cake balls before dipping in baker’s chocolate. Then, just dip in the chocolate as you need.

  2. Sumathi says:

    Made this for co-workers. They LOVED it. In fact, some asked for the recipe and I pointed them to the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

