Eggplant Melt

So I guess you can say that I like eggplant as much as Halley does (see An Ode To Eggplant). For those of you that have never tried eggplant before, this Eggplant Melt is a good first try recipe because of all the yummy ingredients…it may just win you over.

One of my good friends made a similar recipe for me a couple years ago and I have made it several times since, tweaking it a little based on the ingredients that I have in the house. It takes less than 30 minutes to make from start to finish (watch out, Rachael Ray) and is very filling for a vegetarian meal.

Ingredients

  • Olive oil
  • 1 Eggplant (there are 2 in the picture, but I only used 1)
  • 1/2 jar of tomato sauce (I used Spicy Marinara because it was BOGO at Publix)
  • Salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste
  • French hamburger rolls (you can use any type of roll/bun)
  • Part skim mozzarella cheese

Directions

  1. Cut eggplant into large cubes.

2. Pour about 1 Tablespoon olive oil into a pot and add eggplant. Cook on low-medium heat for 5 minutes.

3. Add about 1/2 jar tomato sauce, salt, black pepper, and garlic powder to the pot. Mix well. Cook for 5-10 minutes on medium heat until eggplant has become soft. The time will depend on how large/small the cubes of eggplant are. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

4. Scoop eggplant mixture onto 1/2 of roll and cover with a slice of mozzarella cheese.

5. Bake for about 3 minutes at 350 degrees, or until cheese is melted.

A couple of things:

  • I prefer to make these open faced because you can taste more of the yummy eggplant, but you can definitely make it as a regular sandwich.
  • When my friend made this for me, she topped it with fresh basil. Unfortunately, they didn’t have any at the grocery store today, but I would highly recommend adding it.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Eggplant Melt

  1. looks delish. I’m always looking for meatless entrees!

  2. Yum! This looks awesome! What’s the texture of the eggplant when you bake it like this? Some eggplant dishes I’ve had were mushy whereas others were kind of tough. I like it both ways, but was curious.

    Halley – Can you remember the eggplant dish that we made in the cooking class in Italy? That was awesome and I’d love to try it sometime soon. Let me know if you want to try it together. Also, we need to see some pictures of the Oatmeal Mountain girls cooking this stuff!!

    Thanks for another great post.

    • I would say that the texture of it is right in between mushy and tough. I like my eggplant in this recipe to have a little “bite” to it, so the skin of the eggplant gives it that “bite” to make you feel like you’re eating something with substance while the inside of the eggplant stays nice and soft/slightly mushy. But, you could adjust the cooking time depending on your preference. An eggplant dish made in the cooking class in Italy? That sounds amazing!

  3. kelly pearce says:

    I am obsessed with eggplant, one of my favorite veggies so always looking for more ways to cook it… can’t wait to try this one out asap!

Leave a Reply

