Go Bananas

Sorry it has been awhile since we have posted, but this recipe is definitely worth the wait. We adapted the original recipe taken from www.twopeasandtheirpod.com to make it even healthier and to use up some of the ingredients we had already. Halley and I doubled the recipe to have enough to share with our families and friends over the weekend. These cookies were definitely a hit, I even sprinkled one over my oatmeal on Saturday morning. Enjoy!

Banana Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 1/2 very ripe bananas, mashed (the more ripe the banana, the sweeter the cookie)
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (and we threw in about 1/4 cup butterscotch chips that I had in my fridge)

Directions

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

2. In a large mixing bowl, combine butter and sugars, mix until smooth. Add in vanilla extract and egg. Next, add the banana. Beat well.

 

3. Slowly add in flour mixture until just combined. Stir in oats and chocolate chips.

(If you like raw cookie dough, this may be some of the best I’ve ever had.)

4. Drop cookie dough by heaping tablespoons 2 inches apart onto baking sheets that have been lined with parchment paper (or aluminum foil in our case). Bake at 350 degrees F for 15-18 minutes or until golden. Remove cookies from pans; cool completely on wire racks.

Yum!

Side note: I accidentally left these in my car over the weekend and brought them back in yesterday to eat and the cookies tasted amazing. Do I recommend that you leave these out in your car for 24 hours? No, but I do recommend eating them warm, you can probably have the same effect as I did by just warming the cookie in the microwave for about 10-15 seconds…until the chocolate chips melt a little bit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Go Bananas

  1. Alexis Ginsburg says:

    Looks delicious! Just read up on all y’all posts. Great job girls! Keep it up. I will def be making some of these this weekend…

  2. Juhee says:

    these are DE + lightful + licious!! i was lucky enough to have a few babies from this very batch. as recommended above– add some crumbles of this to your oatmeal in the morning…or if you’re having breakfast for dinner– add some crumbles of this to your oatmeal in the evening 🙂 🙂 this was how vasu prepared it for us… you wont regret it.

    a very special piece of advice vasu gave me was something along the lines of adding something “unhealthy” to make your oatmeal exciting. (not to say that oatmeal is not exciting alone and not that vasu the newly knighted RD is condoning unhealthy eating habits)… just sayin these cookies are a golden option for that extra little kick to your oatmeal.

    thanks halley and vasu for sharing these recipes xoxo

  3. Britney Summerville says:

    “Halley and I doubled the recipe to have enough to share with our families and friends over the weekend.” ummmmm….. I’m pretty sure I would have remembered some of this yummy goodness this weekend. I don’t think there was a lot of sharing going on with Halley’s half 🙂

    Great post and perfect cookies. I already look forward to the next post.

    • Yea…my bad…my half got left at the house and never made it to the lake…but at least I had good intentions right? Don’t worry, I’ll make some more soon! Maybe we can find a grits cookie recipe for you 🙂

  4. Valli says:

    So I was waiting to comment on this till I actually tried the recipe on my own. I first had these with juhee a few weeks ago. I tried making them last night, I had a few extremely ripe bananas so figured I could make this recipe and they came out great, in fact I’m eating one right now as I type this comment. I’m not much of a baker but I followed this recipe to the T and my husband and I are happy with the results… looking forward to trying more oatmeal mountain recipes soon!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

