Welcome to Oatmeal Mountain

Meet Halley and Vasu, co-bloggers of Oatmeal Mountain:

We are 2 RDs in Birmingham, Alabama who met through our dietetic internship at UAB. We quickly bonded over our love of oatmeal, Yogurt Mountain (www.yogurtmountain.com), and our desire to open the world’s first Oatmeal Mountain (think self-serve oatmeal with hundreds of toppings).

How it all began: We were sitting at aforementioned Yogurt Mountain discussing “random” recipes that we found on the internet, when we realized that we had been following the same food bloggers for months, without even knowing it. Our discussions of “Did you see what ____ made for breakfast?” quickly fueled our desire to start our own food blog. We toyed around with the idea during our internship, but we decided to get through the internship and pass our RD exams first. The idea of starting a food blog was the light at the end of the tunnel, once we were done with our studies.

As slightly inexperienced cooks, we hope to share some of our favorite recipes from friends, family, and other bloggers and our trials and tribulations as we attempt to create and master the art of cooking. As big “foodies”, we will also share reviews of  our favorite restaurants, bakeries, and food that friends that offer to cook for us, etc.

We also want to spread our love of oatmeal throughout the world, so that one day our dream of opening “Oatmeal Mountain” will come true.

So who are we?

Halley: I grew up in Huntsville, AL and went to Mississippi State University for undergrad (Go Dawgs!).  I had a great experience there and after I graduated, spent a year in Salerno, Italy doing an internship with the ministry I was involved with in college, sharing my love of Jesus and food throughout Italy.  It was the best year of my life!  I returned home to Alabama to do my dietetic internship at UAB, graduated in June, and started working at a hospital here in Birmingham, doing outpatient nutritional counseling mixed with some clinical nutrition.  I love my job and I love the extra time I have now without studying, so I am excited to spread the love of oatmeal.

Vasu: I grew up in Baton Rouge, LA and went to Louisiana State University for undergrad (GEAUX TIGERS!). Living in a Cajun town with an Indian family, I was able to enjoy and grow up around a wide variety of delicious and spicy food. I then moved to Birmingham, AL for my Master of Public Health degree then continued on to complete a dietetic internship. I currently work in a pediatric hospital in Birmingham and love the work that I do. I look forward to sharing recipes from my childhood and creations of my own.

While we are Registered Dietitians, we spend all day giving nutritional advice, counting calories, carbs, and tube feeding regimens and would rather this blog focus on the joy of cooking and eating good food (especially oatmeal!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Welcome to Oatmeal Mountain

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Britney Summerville says:

    Yay for Oatmeal Mountain!! I look forward to following you guys and learning how to be a better cook through your posts.

  3. Emily Anne Dean says:

    When I became pregnant my affinity for oatmeal led to an unhealthy obsession. I put everything from mint leaves to lemon curd/pecans in my morning bowl. Two suggestions for the blog: Give my Scandinavian roots a salute and do a feature on Muesli & if ever you are in Seaside, Fl you HAVE to go to this tiny airstream trailer on the strip called “Raw and Juicy.” It’s a fresh veggie/juice bar that specializes in healthnut fad foods. oatmeal is unbelievable.

    • Done and done. Expect a Muesli post soon. Also, does your affinity for your oatmeal during pregnancy mean that Murray will also be an oatmeal lover…and possibly future customer of Oatmeal Mountain?

  4. BetBet of Catering Events says:

    Go Girl! Being a true Southern Girl I love Oatmeal and Eggplant. I loved reading the Blog. Knowing what a great Wait Staffer you are at Catering Events you should come up with an idea for an Oatmeal Bar . What do you think?
    BetBet

    • Miss Betty, I would LOVE to do an oatmeal bar! Vasu and I have thought about having a BYOT (bring your own toppings) oatmeal party. I think it would be a hit at all the weddings. Shrimp and grits bar and mashed potato bar would totally take a backseat to an oatmeal bar!

  5. love, love, love, LOVE this!!

  6. I love love love the title and concept of this blog. once you open oatmeal mountain, i will be there asap. peanut butter and chocolate chip topping options please :) but in all seriousness, I am looking forward to reading more!

  7. Pingback: My Visit with Oatmeal Mountain « Dairy Delivers Blog

Leave a Reply

